Unless the user has enough reputation to see a deleted post, I don't think they will be able to see the response. However, I'm not sure what the current state in logic is around notifications - they may get a notification that you responded if it was processed before the deletion, but I don't know if the notification is revoked after the deletion.
You posted the question exclusively to promote a paper that you wrote and solicit reviews. Promoting your paper is no different than promoting your software product or a service. Treating this as spam seems very appropriate.