I voted to close this question, and then the OP asked for downvoters to give a comment. Which made me wonder: what do new (low rep) users see when there is a close vote on their question (before it has been closed)? I know that as someone with the right to vote, I could see what the votes are simply by starting the process of voting to close on my own question, but would that be necessary?
Below 250 rep, the user doesn't see anything related to close votes unless a higher rep user tells them.
This privilege allows you to view and cast close and reopen votes on your own questions.
And as gnat pointed out, they will see the comment of a suggested duplicate after the first duplicate vote is cast.