I'm sure you're familiar with the process: When you vote on a question or answer, you're given a brief period in which to cancel your vote (as if you never voted) or reverse your vote, but then your vote will be locked in permanently until the question/answer is edited.
However I've discovered that if you cancel your vote, this too is locked in. Your nulled vote is permanently a nulled vote until the question/answer is edited. This strikes me as counter-intuitive (my vote was cancelled - what is there to lock in?) and unhelpful.
I believe there is great utility in not having a cancelled vote locked in. Earlier today I downvoted an answer, then questioned whether it truly deserved it and decided I'd rather suspend my judgement and cancelled my vote. I revisited the answer a few minutes ago and was convinced it deserved the downvote. Clicking the downvote arrow, I was met with this...
My request: Cancelled votes should not be counted as votes and should not be locked in. They should be treated as if no vote was ever placed in the first place, allowing me to place the vote much later.